From: Shadsfax Issue 50 (2006) 3-4

The Shadows
"The Shadows Collection"
EMI Gold 0946 3 435535 2 6
Released October 2005

Apache / Man Of Mystery / FBI / The Frightened City / Kon-Tiki / The Savage / Wonderful Land [undubbed stereo version] / Guitar Tango / Dance On! / Foot Tapper [mono single version] / Atlantis / Shindig / Geronimo / Theme For Young Lovers [with mismastered initial double note] / The Rise And Fall Of Flingel Bunt / Genie With The Light Brown Lamp / Mary Anne / Stingray / Let Me Be The One / Don’t Cry For Me Argentina / Theme From The Deer Hunter / Riders In The Sky [single version]

Not a lot need be said about this 22-tracker. It is the HMV Easy release from 2001, reviewed in Shadsfax Issue 38 p.7, in new dress. Three pages of the eight-page booklet are devoted to liner notes by Dave McAleer, who disconcertingly states that our heroes were busy charting in the company of Cliff Richard “back in 1958”, in the guise of a “quintet”, going on to produce such curios as “Flingel Blunt”. Ah well, never mind, there are nice colour shots of the group dotted about among illustrations of menacing-looking arrows, which appear to be purely decorative rather than a glance at Apache. The disc is labelled a “Tesco Exclusive”, but its shelf-life by the look of it is short, as seems to be the way these days with supermarket-commissioned music compilations.


Return to Home / Shadow Music Reviews