From: Shadsfax Issue 42 (2003) 8–9

The Shadows
"Hit Story"
EMI Netherlands 7243 540182 2 0
Released March 2003

Apache / Man Of Mystery / FBI / Kon-Tiki / The Savage / Wonderful Land [true stereo] / Guitar Tango / Dance On! / Foot Tapper [single version: mono] / Atlantis / Shindig / Geronimo / In The Mood / Theme For Young Lovers [lead guitar right: mismastered double note at start] / The Rise And Fall Of Flingel Bunt / Genie With The Light Brown Lamp / Don’t Make My Baby Blue / Turn Around And Touch Me / Let Me Be The One / Theme From The Deer Hunter

2002 according to the documentation, but I have it on the authority of Kees Verhaaren that the disc was released on the date given above. There was certainly no sign of it last year.

There are three pages of annotation, in Dutch, from Ed Hoogeveen, along with some colour pics taking in various line-ups: an indication of their success with Cliff and in their own right is followed up with a brief account of The Drifters, a rundown of The Shads’ early classic singles and selected films with which they were associated (“Expresso Bongo” is sandwiched between “The Young Ones” and “Summer Holiday”), then on to MW & F, the Eurovision entry (beaten by a Dutch act, we are reminded), and the crowning glory, Deer Hunter, a Number One in Holland (and Belgium too). Other hits from these two countries are itemised on a separate page (seventeen titles in all, all featured on this disc), the highest achiever being Wonderful Land, a Number Two in Holland.


Return to Home / Shadow Music Reviews